Christmas musings

Well, it is Christmas Day. And for those of us who grew up on some kind of Christian faith, even if we don’t still believe in all of the smoke and mirrors, I, for one, still believe that there was a guy named Jesus who preached things that the powers that be didnt want to hear, and that they killed him for it. I’m sure he had no idea the effect he would have on the world, so maybe that is what we should think about on Christmas. Speak your truth, because who knows what it might become. As for my, and my family’s, truth this year, it’s been a rough one. I’ve been out on medical leave for two months, and my dad is in the hospital after a really close call with a post surgical infection. We were very close to having to plan a funeral. Visiting someone in the hospital on Christmas isn’t ideal, but it’s better than the alternative. So beyond the platitudes of counting your blessings and all, I am usually pretty morose around the holidays. It is a time where I think about where I was last year at this time and see if I’ve made any progress. Since the answer is usually “no”, I am often a curmudgeon. My dad being alive pretty much trumps that. So Merry Christmas to those who celebrate it, and for those who don’t, well, I hope you have a good day too.

Leave a Reply

